In 300 years, if you were to be named the patron saint of X, what would you like X to be? Places, activities, objects — all are fair game.

To be honest, I don’t really see myself being a Saint of anything because of my blatant disregard for rules. I understand why rules need to exist, but for my whole life I have had a really hard time colouring within the lines. I enjoy breaking rules, and by this I don’t mean shoplifting or robbing banks or doing anything to hurt other people. My disregard for rules is mostly my inherent interest in pushing social norms and testing boundaries. I think it’s important that we, as a generation, question the rules. I’m not saying to disrespect any disobey every rule just for the hell of it, I just think we all need to do our homework and make our own decisions about what exactly society tells us we should and should not do.

0b82d983b5c272769ca14a0de3116993

Marijuana is illegal, but I smoke it on a regular basis to alleviate pain and anxiety because I truly believe that it is better for us than any pharmaceutical. Even though there is a blatant sign prohibiting it, I turn left going east on Victoria when there is no one around because it is absolutely silly not to. I think there are some rules that are made to be broken. Why else would they be in place at all if no one was ever going to break them? I think there are rules and laws, and then there are morals and just generally being a good person. I break the law at least once a day, usually, but I still consider myself a good person and a positive contribution to society. I just believe that we can’t just sit back and let people tell us what to do without understanding or agreeing on the reasoning behind it. We live in a time now where we can have our own opinions and our own free thoughts. We can be free from the shackles of religion and social normality if we so choose to be.

My restless, curious, wayward nature lends itself to what people consider being a “free spirit”. What does it mean to be a free spirit? To me, it means being a soul that belongs nowhere and everywhere at the same time. Someone who lets their spirit roam and never stops marveling at things, questioning things and truly appreciating things… even when they might not be in line with what society expects or demands from us.

So, I guess, I would be Ashley – the Patron Saint of the Free Spirit. I will happily protect, support and guide anyone who wants to roam free and be a spontaneous, rule-breaking goofball like me.

85498c09fcb5bb4ae55658d1f8d01391

 

