Image

I think one of the secrets of happiness is to learn and accept when it’s time to let go. To let go doesn’t mean to stop caring, but if something (or someone) is weighing you down and affecting your overall happiness, then it’s time to just… let it go. I know it’s easier said than done. I think it’s just one of the ongoing things in life… you have to be constantly evaluating your relationships. This may sound exhausting, but really, it’s exhausting not to. The people in your life, are they making you truly happy? Do they bring out the best in you and vice versa?

Image

I’ve had to cut ties with people, who I still to this day, love very much. It just came to a point where maintaining the relationship was weighing on my shoulders a little too heavily. And as hard as it was, every time I’ve done it, I’ve felt noticeably better. Sad, yes. But also lighter and more carefree. The greatest relationships don’t require a whole lot of effort. Of course each party needs to put effort in to keep the relationship alive, but that effort should come naturally. It shouldn’t feel like effort. If it’s feeling like real work or struggle for too long… you need to look out for yourself and move on. It’s okay to be selfish sometimes.

Screen Shot 2014-05-22 at 1.09.55 PM

You don’t need to leave these relationships on bad terms. I still love and respect every single person I’ve had to cut out of my life. They just weren’t right for me anymore. And most of the time, once the ties are severed, they’re just severed. I wish nothing bad or negative on any of these people, and when I see their achievements and joy I feel genuinely happy for them. We could probably even go get a beer or coffee sometime and catch up. But I’m at a point now in life where I don’t want to force friendships. I want to spend time with people who love me, challenge me and push me to be the best I can be. Time flies too fast to spend our moments sad, worried, stressed or angry.

So let go of one thing today that is not serving you. I promise, you’ll notice the weight off your shoulders.

Screen Shot 2014-05-22 at 1.25.23 PM

 

 

