Well… I needed a day to recover from that one. I’m going to have to “review” the entire night… because it was just that awesome. If you just want to know about the show: it was absolutely fantastic. And you totally missed out if you weren’t there. I know… Surprise, surprise, right? It seems as though I only write positive reviews of bands… so maybe my credibility is a little skewed. And, I may be a little bias because the Caddies are one of my favourite bands. And I know every single word to 90% of their songs. And I have a major crush on the singer. So naturally, of course all of this equates to a good time… For me. I’m pretty sure everyone in that place was having a blast though. I know I definitely shared sweat with complete strangers that I have never spoken to and will likely never speak to. I also know I couldn’t stop smiling the entire time, smack dab in the middle of the mosh pit. Man, I forgot how exhilarating and fun it is to jump around to ska. It had been a while! They played all of my favourite songs. The anticipation for All American Badass was justifiably high – for a minute I got scared they weren’t going to play it. I had a feeling it would be the last song of their encore, but they hadn’t played Riot yet… so it could have been either or. They thankfully played AAB, or I would have left feeling a little bummed. That is one of my all time favourite songs. Anyway… the entire performance by the Mad Caddies was an A++ in my books. I wish I could do it all over again right now. I woke up with a sore jaw, very sore feet, bruised, battered… and blissful. 

Image

And the venue… Ohh, Venue. It has such potential to be awesome, and I want to love it. It’s a rad venue, really, it just has that snobby Granville vibe, when it really isn’t great enough to be that cocky. The women’s washrooms were actually a little scary, even when we got there at 10. Only a few toilets had toilet seats. Paper towel, soap and toilet paper all ran out by 10:30. The ATM charges $4. (Broke people problems, I know, and I shouldn’t be bitching about that since I was fully aware and chose to go to Granville Street… but even I’m allowed to complain about some things, some times, right?) Good thing they have such awesome, honest patrons though! Tara and I returned a coach wallet we found in the washroom. I just have to add as well, that Tara has had not one, but TWO iPhone 5S’s stolen. I’ve had a laptop stolen. And we’re still returning other people’s shit that we find. Pay it forward, people.

Image

 At the beginning of the show, Tar and I were standing and had a pretty good view, until a couple super tall people stood directly in front of us. This happens all the time, and as a short person, I always feel warranted to wonder about people’s general courtesy towards other people when they do that. Not even a minute later, the really tall guy turned around and said “So sorry girls. Do you want to switch spots?” I have NEVER, once, had someone do that. Usually people just stroll up with their big heads and don’t give two shits about who’s behind them trying to see. Anyway, rant over. And to Sean, the chivalrous giant – thank you for having such great concert etiquette and just basic, common courtesy! Nice to meet you guys last night! I’m sure Tar will be in touch with you about Copenhagen. Haha. 🙂

One last thing. This… is SO true. Happens EVERY TIME. Hahaha. I love it. Yeah, Canada! 

Image

