Image

The first time I heard the Mad Caddies, I was in the 9th grade. I had just moved from Calgary to a small town in Alberta, and had never given any thought to or had any interest in punk rock until then. In Jr. High I was brainwashed by mainstream music. I listened to Backstreet Boys and S Club 7 and whatever was popular at the time. (Puke!) My world was changed when I started listening to punk rock. I fell in love with Pennywise, NOFX, Bad Religion, Strung Out and Rise Against. Then I discovered ska. The first Mad Caddies song I heard was “All American Badass”:

– a fun and hilarious mix of polka and punk. It still, to this day, turns me into a giddy, giggly schoolgirl.

The first time I saw the Mad Caddies was about 4 years ago, and I left the Distillery in Calgary blissful and sweaty. I was so excited when they announced their show in Vancouver a few months ago and the day has finally come!!! Stay tuned for a review of the show tomorrow. I have high expectations, so they BETTER still rock as much as they did in 2010!

Their last album, “Keep It Going”, was released in 2007. Way too long ago if you ask me! There are rumours of them being in the studio recording a new album… so here’s hoping. Either way I’m very excited to take a trip down memory lane tonight and skank the night away in the mosh pit! I might be getting too old to mosh… but I doubt that will ever stop me.

If you’re new to the Caddies… I would recommend getting the album “Consensual Selections” – it’s their greatest hits, released in 2010, and a good place to start!

Here’s one of my favourite songs of all time, of any genre – “State of Mind”

You don’t even have to be a punk fan to enjoy this song. At least I don’t think so!

Image Love you Caddies!!!! ❤

