Okay I know I’ve been proverbially “shitting the bed” at blogging lately. So much has happened in my life over the last little while it’s been a little overwhelming! But in the best possible way. Hmm, let’s see. Since the last time I really posted anything about what’s actually going on in my life…

Image

I graduated. Go me! Not only did I graduate from a crazy intense art school program, I was elected by my class to give be the student speaker. I’ll post my speech up here sometime, for anyone who may care to watch it. I also won 2 awards. My team won “Best Project Results” for our compilation album The Party Lives On, which is still available online HERE: http://thepartyliveson-compilation.bandcamp.com/

I also won “Best Final Project” for my project, the first concert of the Plugged In Concert Series, which you can go like on Facebook HERE: facebook.com/pluggedinconcerts. Okay, enough with the plugs and the bragging. The competition was tough… I was really surprised to have won. The people I was up against for this award delivered REALLY amazing projects.

I’d love to see the look on my high school teachers’ faces after hearing that Ashley Frerichs was valedictorian AND the winner of two awards in post secondary. They probably wouldn’t have even believed I went to post secondary, considering the way I was in high school. Ha!

And! I got a job at Bruce Allen Talent. For those of you who don’t know who Bruce Allen is, maybe you should consider coming out from the rock you’ve been hiding under for the last 30+ years. Bruce Allen is one of the, if not THE biggest music manager in Canada. I am incredibly lucky to have landed a job like this right out of the gates of VFS. I’m learning so much and I’m constantly being pushed to reach my potential, which I believe was part of my cover letter? I’m very excited and happy about the way things are going for my career right now.

The major difference between a job and a career, I’m learning – is that when you have a job, you clock out… and that’s that. When you have a career, you are on call. 24/7. It’s taking some getting used to, but I’ve never felt more prepared for my career than I am in this very moment.

Anyway, life is good and I promise to be a better blogger starting NOW! (Maybe if I e-pledge this “out loud” to the web world, I’ll actually stick to it!)

Also please check out my music blog at wordpress.com/pluggedinshows for concert reviews, music recommendations, etc.

Thanks friends! Talk soon… I promise!

Maybe I’ll even divulge a little about my dating life next time. You know you wanna know… 😉

AshleyJude

